care instructions

Care Instructions


instructionsfabric

sleeve

The Eat and Sleep Alarm has a direct relationship with the Care Instructions. They both relate to the idea of the support that friends and family can give. This product reminds the people around the grieving that they are human and have some basic needs no matter what state they are in. Much like washing instructions on clothes in format, this tag can be attached to a piece of clothing, inside or out.

Available for adoption. If you are interested in adopting this object for a while please leave a comment below.

~ by Matt on March 12, 2009.

11 Responses to “care instructions”

  1. I love this one. It says so much in such a simple way. Sometimes we need to tell people what we need. They dont always know.

    from a psychotherapist

  2. I can see myself wearing a T-shirt with that printed on the chest.

  3. Cool idea, but maybe all the points could be related to the greieving process, not just the last two. I don’t think you need the “Do not iron” “Do not tumble dry” etc, I think to the observer it is obvious you are paradoying the idea of a clothes label already. For instance you could have more points like “Listen to regularly” or “Hug regularly” etc…..

  4. My first reaction to this item was to laugh, no doubt it would make a nice change to a headache caused by too many tears. I would give this to a grieving friend/family member as a tag (on a gift of clothing), emblazoned on a t.shirt or greeting card. However, if the ratio of grieving lines to washing care instruction lines increased it would be too ‘revealing/personal’ (if emblazoned on a t.shirt) for me. Wearing one’s heart on one’s sleeve when grieving doesn’t suit me although I’m aware everyone is different.

  5. Interesting… Eat and sleep. So washing, eating and sleeping are the most important things for humans? Think there is missing something more emotional like love, caress, etc. I like that 50% son, 50% brother a lot.

  6. In times gone by people who were grieving would wear a black arm band or even dress totally in black. I imagine that this was to signal that they were in some state of loss. I would like to think that others would take this into acount in their treatment of this person.
    Now there doesn’t seem to be any outward social behaviour representing an internal state of loss. Not beyond the immediate funeral etc.
    I really like where you have positioned the instructions although the anger in me would like to wear it larger.

  7. I like the blend here, of ‘outside the square’ and conventional; the overt care, is balanced by the subtlety of not ‘taking for granted’ or being ‘care-less’ in approaching grief…

  8. From my Swedish point of view
    “this is one of my absolute favourite”. I think it speaks for itself. But promise me to keep the iron and tumble dry, there is an symbolic meaning in that to.

  9. I like this a lot – it’s practical in that people don’t know how to treat a grieving person, so start with basics; it reminds others that the person is in fact grieving (as Shaz said); and I particularly like the element of sad humour in the Do Not Iron, etc

Leave a Reply

 
