cuticle protector

Cuticle Protector

cuticleed03

cuticleed02

There was a person that found themselves picking at their thumb cuticles not long after a friend died. This nervous habit continues to this day. Since then several people have mentioned a similar habit. The Cuticle Protector is a basic metal covering ring that no longer allows access to the cuticles.

Available for adoption. If you are interested in adopting this object for a while please leave a comment below.

~ by Matt on March 12, 2009.

14 Responses to “cuticle protector”

  1. I think it’s a good idea

  2. The simplest piece but in the same to time the best one

  3. We all have ways of managing stress. I like this one. It is simple but effective.

    from a psychotherapist

  4. A very practical solution, could see working in a real world application. Also works conceptually.

  5. Nice and clever little design!

  6. Don’t know if this is that useful… I imagine that one loses the ring easily. Picking thumb cuticles is not very nice, but wearing such a big and conspicuous ring…

  7. Yeah love the simplicity. And it seems to be about ‘looking after’

  8. how do i buy myself one of these?

  9. After sending a lot of money on creams and oils that do not workm I would be so grateful to know where I can get this product.

  10. I need this. My left thumb cuticle is raw from picking. Where do I get one?

  11. There have been some enquiries about where to get the cuticle protector. Unfortunately I have been focused on other projects I haven’t been able to make it commercially available but you’ll be pleased to know that I am in discussions with a couple of companies that could produce them. I will leave a comment here when this is confirmed.
    In the mean time I would love to know if there is a preference between the cuticle protector above and what is described as the final one which is in brass? Any feedback about preferences in material, shape and surface texture would be hugely appreciated.
    Thank you for your interest.
    Take care.

    Matt

  12. this seems like a great idea, although rubber may be better then metal just for comfort, I am now on a search, because band-aids are not cutting it!

  13. I need something just like this for both of my thumbs! help!

  14. I would be very interested in buying a pair of these. I suffer from chronic cancer-related stress and I’ve been picking my cuticles for so long my nails grow sideways.

Leave a Reply

 
