extra safe necklace

Extra Safe Necklace

necklace01

necklace02cropped

There are almost always objects that are or become special after someone has died. The Extra Safe Necklace portrays the experience of losing one of those special objects in the shape of a pendant. The clasp/padlock becomes the focus of this necklace.

Available for adoption. If you are interested in adopting this object for a while please leave a comment below.

~ by Matt on March 12, 2009.

6 Responses to “extra safe necklace”

  1. Yes objects become special and can be lost but the relationship you had with the person will always be with you. It is part of you.

    from a psychotherapist

  2. What makes the safe “extra” special? I am interested. Nice mock ups by the way, I am blown away!

  3. Special objects I totally understand. I like to be able to reach out/touch/hold small objects which give me strength whenever I miss people or my homeland. It’s not necessarily an item given to me by the deceased.

    If I were to lose any of these I don’t think I’d opt for the Extra Safe necklace. It looks too much like a padlock and in my mind it belongs on rough, hardwearing luggage and lockers etc. not a person’s neck, no matter how dainty you make it! It’s not personal. Special objects for me need to feel accessible not locked away as a padlock implies. (A Guardian Angel pendant I could accept).

    This necklace could never replace, for example, a Maori koru pendant (representing purity, peace, tranquillity and spirituality along with a strong sense of regrowth or new beginnings nor depict endearment in the form of the relationship of a parent and a child or husband and wife). In this case I’d opt to replace the item with another koru pendant and if it was an irreplaceable item extremely dear to me I’d consider the possibility and cost of having a replica made or let it go because when it comes down to it objects are immaterial.

  4. It reminds me of the thing you wore in 2001. I like it, as well the form and the design, and I tell you that I would really wear it! What kind of material is it? Is it leather and a padlock?

  5. Matt I think this is a beautiful piece and I would certainly love to wear it or even adopt it?
    yes special pieces with significance attatched are incredibly special and important and I even think you form a special attachment to them.
    As for its symbolism I quess that this would be different for everyone. For me it would be a form of protection. Protecting a vulnerable part of me.

  6. Yeah that looks pretty extra safe to me. Shows the desperation of not wanting to lose that symbol, in fact tangible connection with the deceased person.

Leave a Reply

 
