trauma lingerie

Trauma Lingerie

lingerie02-copy1

Attraction and sex are things often left out of the public sphere of grieving. Trauma Lingerie is based on the realisation of someone that has experienced trauma being attracted to people that have also been through something traumatic in their lives. The printing of obituaries on these pieces allude to this connection.

~ by Matt on March 12, 2009.

5 Responses to “trauma lingerie”

  1. Often how people find closeness. I agree it is not talked about. Touch may be part of this also.

    from a psychotherapist

  2. Hi Matt,
    I think it’s important for people who have been through something traumatic to have someone who can relate, even just a wee bit with what they’ve been through, I think it helps their situation feel more normal. I guess in some cases this could lead to being attracted to someone, in my view I don’t think this could be the only reason, there has to be something else you find attractive about the person. The lingerie is going to be really beautiful! When will you have images? The lingerie & care labels are my favourite pieces

    • Images for the Trauma Lingerie should be on the blog within the next week. I hope they don’t disappoint.

      Matt

  3. I experienced a ‘push-pull’ in this work: on the one hand, I’m drawn in, both invited & wanting/needing to understand. On the other, I can never know – left with the trunk only, I am ‘cut off’ – she is lost, long before she can be found…

  4. I like the vulnerability aspect to this – grief can make us about as emotionally vulnerable as it’s possible to be, and between two people experiencing grief this is mutually recognized, respected, and shared to a large extent. This isn’t so different to the emotional vulnerability lovers have with each other, hence the attraction. Lingerie symbolizes both parts nicely, as most of us feel more vulnerable in our undies…

Leave a Reply

 
